GLOBART Space Hack

Space Hack 12. & 13. October 2018

“Everything is potentially possible“ 

The GLOBART Spacehack event at the University of Applied Sciences Wiener Neustadt offered young ambitious minds the opportunity to solve issues concerning space debris within 24 hours. With the GLOBART SpaceHack on 12th and 13th October in cooperation with the FH Wr. Neustadt and the ESA-BIC Austria, GLOBART opened an interdisciplinary thinking space for relevant future topics.

Space debris is calculated to 8,000 tons or almost 750,000 objects. Based on solutions proposed by the Clean Space Initiative of the European Space Agency, it is necessary to develop future-oriented and competitive projects for a sustainable space flight and the removal of space debris. The best project is awarded 5,000 €. In addition, a start-up coaching of the incubation centre of the ESA in Austria was awarded.

About 40 participants, from the FH Wr. Neustadt, University of Technology Vienna, University of Applied Arts Vienna, TU Delft, FOTEC and HTL Eisenstadt accepted the challenge. At the start of the event, the leading mentors (Dr. Carsten Scharlemann / FH Wr. Neustadt, Kartik Kumar M.Sc. / TU Delft, Florian Schummer M.Sc. / TU Munich, Mag. Florian Schirg / accent NÖ) supported the participants during topic selection with input and expertise.

Starting at noon, four teams worked on for 24-hours straight to create new projects focussing on the two main topics removal of space debris and the use of recycled material in space.

As a fact, the mentors´ expertise increased the high level of productivity until late night. Although you were able to see the exhaustion of the participants in the next morning, the last working hours were again intensively used.

Finally, a top-class jury consisting of business and science (Mag. Phil Martin Mössler M. Sc (LSE) (ESA-BIC Austria), Dr. Carsten Scharlemann (FH Wiener Neustadt), Florian Schummer M. Sc. (TU Munich), Mag.a Victoria Schebek (bmvit, Department of Space Affairs), Mag. Michael Moll (accent NÖ), Ing. Claus Zeppelzauer (ecoplus, Lower Austria’s Business Agency GmbH), Ignaz Forstmeier, BA (board member GLOBART, co-founder Online Platform Personio ) rated the seven-minute pitch from each group.

As Heidi Dobner and Carsten Scharlemann mentioned in the award ceremony, all participants are winners, since knowledge and ideas were spread, a creative process was set in motion to learn new things and the opportunity to meet new people.

The GLOBART SpaceHack joins the program of the traveling exhibition “Our Place in Space”, which can be seen at the NHM Vienna until November 4th. It is important for GLOBART as think tank to ask the right questions, to lead a constructive discourse, to develop solutions for the future and, above all, to promote their implementation. Our core goals are to support awake, critical and energetic people, to tell stories of success, to give the architects of the future a podium and to inspire them, to implement their ideas as well. The symbiosis of art and science is a constant companion.

Projekts

The Team “Space Removal Inc.” won the GLOBART SpaceHack with a mobile game that is designed to catch space debris from space using virtual reality. The jury decided on the project, since “a conscious perception of the problem is anchored in the social discourse and thus the greatest added value can arise”.

The team around Maria Hasler (University of Vienna), Kaarel Repän (FH Wiener Neustadt), Purchimun Low (FH Wiener Neustadt), Michael Happl (FOTEC), Fouad Abiad (TU Delft) and Bryan Weimer (FH Wiener Neustadt) are going to use the prize money in order to put their idea into practice.

 

Mentors & Jury

Mentors

Kartik Kumar M. Sc. (TU Delft, Analog Astronaut/ area of expertise: Orbit Debris Removal)

Florian Schummer M. Sc. (TU Munich, Aerospace Engineering / area of expertise: De-Orbit canvas, shape memory alloy, small satellites)

Mag. Florian Schirg  (accent NÖ/ area of expertise: Start Up founding)

Dr. Carsten Scharlemann (FH Wr. Neustadt / Head of Institute Aerospace Engineering/ aera of expertise: Space Propulsion)

Jury

Mag. phil. Martin Mössler M. Sc. (LSE) (ESA-BIC Austria/ Science Park Graz)

Dr. Carsten Scharlemann (FH Wr. Neustadt)

Florian Schummer M. Sc. (TU Munich)

Mag.a Victoria Schebek (bmvit, Department of Outer Space Affairs)

Mag. Michael Moll (accent NÖ)

Ing. Claus Zeppelzauer* (ecoplus. Niederösterreichs Wirtschaftsagentur GmbH)

Ignaz Forstmeier, B.A. (board member GLOBART, co-founder Online Plattform Personio)

 

Cooperations

GLOBART Space Hack

Space Hack 12. & 13. Oktober 2018

“Everything is potentially possible“ 

 

Die Aula der FH Wr. Neustadt verwandelte sich für 24 Stunden zum Zentrum der österreichischen Raumfahrt. Mit dem GLOBART SpaceHack wurde am 12. und 13. Oktober in Zusammenarbeit mit der FH Wr. Neustadt und dem ESA-BIC Austria ein interdisziplinärer Denkraum für relevante Zukunftsthemen geöffnet.  

Auf 8.000 Tonnen Müll oder knapp 750.000 Objekte wird der Schrott im Weltraum geschätzt. Ansetzend an Lösungsvorschläge der Clean Space Initiative der European Space Agency galt es zukunftsweisende und wettbewerbsfähige Projekte für eine nachhaltige Raumfahrt und zur Entfernung von Space Debris zu entwickeln. Die beste Idee wurde mit einem Preisgeld von 5.000 € dotiert. Zudem wurde ein Start-Up Coaching des Inkubationszentrums der ESA in Österreich vergeben.

Über 40 TeilnehmerInnen, der FH Wr. Neustadt, TU Wien, der Angewandten, Universität Wien, TU Delft, FOTEC und HTL Eisenstadt, nahmen die Herausforderung an. Am Vormittag unterstützten leitgebende Inputs der Mentoren (Dr. Carsten Scharlemann / FH Wr. Neustadt, Kartik Kumar M.Sc. / TU Delft, Florian Schummer M.Sc. / TU München, Mag. Florian Schirg / accent NÖ) die TeilnehmerInnen bei der Themenfindung.

 

Mittags der Startschuss: Aus den 2 übergeordneten Themenblöcken Entfernung von Space Debris und die Nutzung von recycelten Material im Weltraum erarbeiteten die 4 Teams in 24 Stunden von Grund auf neue Projekte, die in dieser Form noch nicht dagewesen waren.

Das zeitintensive Engagement der Mentoren hielt das Produktivitäslevel bis in die späte Nacht aufrecht. Obwohl am nächsten Morgen den TeilnehmerInnen die Müdigkeit ins Gesicht geschrieben war wurden die letzten Stunden noch einmal intensiv genutzt.

Schließlich galt es eine hochkarätige Jury aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft (Mag. phil. Martin Mössler M. Sc. (LSE) (ESA-BIC Austria), Dr. Carsten Scharlemann (FH Wr. Neustadt), Florian Schummer M. Sc. (TU München), Mag.a Victoria Schebek (bmvit, Abteilung Weltraumangelegenheiten), Mag. Michael Moll (accent NÖ), Ing. Claus Zeppelzauer (ecoplus. Niederösterreichs Wirtschaftsagentur GmbH), Ignaz Forstmeier, B.A. (Vorstandsmitglied GLOBART, co-founder Online Plattform Personio) in 7 Minuten  vom eigenen Pitch zu überzeugen.

Wie Heidi Dobner und Carsten Scharlemann  bei der Preisverleihung betonten sind alle Gewinner. Es wurden Wissen und Ideen geteilt, ein kreativer Prozess gestartet um Perspektiven aufzubrechen und viel Neues dazuzulernen und last but not least auch Freundschaften geschlossen.

Der GLOBART SpaceHack reiht sich in das Programm der Wanderausstellung “Our Place in Space”, die noch bis 4. November im NHM Wien zu sehen ist, ein. Es ist GLOBART als Denkwerkstatt wichtig die richtigen Fragen zu stellen, einen konstruktiven Diskurs zu führen, wie Lösungen für die Zukunft aussehen und vor allem auch die Umsetzung voranzutreiben. Unsere Kernziele sind wache, kritische und tatkräftige Menschen zu fördern, Geschichten des Gelingens zu erzählen, den Architekten der Zukunft ein Podium zu geben und zu begeistern, Ideen auch umzusetzen. Die Symbiose von Kunst und Wissenschaft ist dabei stetiger Wegbegleiter.

Projekte

Mit einem mobilen Handyspiel, in dem man durch “Virtual Reality” selbst Space Debris aus dem All einfangen kann, hat das Team Space Removal Inc. den GLOBART SpaceHack gewonnen. Die Jury hat sich für das Projekt entschieden, da “eine bewusste Wahrnehmung der Problematik im gesellschaftlichen Diskurs verankert wird und somit der größte Mehrwert entstehen kann”.  

Das Team um Maria Hasler (Universität Wien), Kaarel Repän (FH Wr. Neustadt), Purchimun Low (FH Wr. Neustadt), Michael Happl (FOTEC), Fouad Abiad (TU Delft) und Bryan Weimer (FH Wr. Neustadt) werden das Preisgeld nutzen um weiter an ihrer Idee zu arbeiten und diese in die Realität umzusetzen.

 

Mentoren & Jury

Mentoren

Kartik Kumar M. Sc. (TU Delft, Analog Astronaut/ Fachgebiet: Orbit Debris Entfernung)

Florian Schummer M. Sc. (TU Munich, Raumfahrttechnik / Fachgebiet: De-Orbit canvas, Formgedächtnislegierung, kleine Satelliten)

Mag. Florian Schirg (accent NÖ/ Fachgebiet: Start Up Gründung)

Dr. Carsten Scharlemann (FH Wr. Neustadt / Leiter des Instituts Raumfahrttechnik / Fachgebiet: Weltraumantrieb)

Jury

Mag. phil. Martin Mössler M. Sc. (LSE) (ESA-BIC Austria/ Science Park Graz)

Dr. Carsten Scharlemann (FH Wr. Neustadt/Abteilung für Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik)

Florian Schummer M. Sc. (TU München)

Mag.a Victoria Schebek (bmvit, Abteilung für Weltraumangelegenheiten)

Mag. Michael Moll (accent NÖ)

Ing. Claus Zeppelzauer* (ecoplus. Niederösterreichs Wirtschaftsagentur GmbH)

Ignaz Forstmeier, B.A. (Vorstandsmitglied GLOBART, Mitgründer der Online Plattform Personio)

Kooperationen