World Peace Game

A GLOBART education initiative

With handing out the GLOBART Award to John Hunter in 2012 an unforseeable success story began. The reform pedagogical approach of the world famous pedagogue revolutionizes education in many class rooms – all over Europe. Since 2014 GLOBART has educated 209 pedagogues from 28 different countries to become facilitators for the World Peace Game and gave them a unique tool for teaching. An approach that prepares students for the crucial tasks of the future, that fosters their peace and social competences as well as their decision making abilities and gives them a tool to become reflective, critical and energetic global citizens.

With the help of GLOBART over 50 World Peace Games have been played and over 1.900 pupils solved the biggest and most important crises of our time and are furthermore engaging in a culture of civil courage.

For the future, we are going to strengthen the network of educated facilitators, that every child in Austria is able to take responsibility for the future of our planet.

The World Peace Game is turning education upside down, because it is more than just a game!

Knowledge, creativity and social competence are needed.
Teachers are becoming the considerate audience and mediators.
Children are being confronted, in a playful way, with realistic, global conflicts and they are supposed to solve them together.

The game is not supposed to maximize knowledge, but to encourage the children to take action. First they are opponents in the game, on purpose. But the secret of the game is, that if you want to survive, you have to work together. I am not teaching this to the children, they are discovering it for the greatest part by themselves, because it is necessary.

- John Hunter

World Peace Game

Eine GLOBART Bildungsinitiative

Mit der Verleihung des GLOBART Awards an John Hunter 2012 hat eine nicht absehbare Erfolgsgeschichte begonnen. Der reformpädagogische Ansatz des Starpädagogen aus den USA revolutioniert derzeit den Unterricht in vielen Klassenzimmern – europaweit. Seit 2014 hat GLOBART 209 PädagogInnen aus 28 Nationen zu Spielleitern für das World Peace Game ausgebildet und Ihnen damit eine ganz neue Methode des Unterrichtens mitgegeben. Ein Ansatz der SchülerInnen auf die entscheidenden Aufgaben der Zukunft vorbereitet, ihre Friedens-, Sozial-, und Handlungskompetenzen fördert und ihnen das Werkzeug mitgibt zu reflektierten, kritischen, tatkräftigen WeltbürgerInnen zu werden.

Über 50x wurde das World Peace Game mit Hilfe von GLOBART gespielt und über 1.900 Kinder haben die größten Krisen unserer Zeit bereits gelöst und setzen sich nun aktiv für eine Kultur der Zivilcourage und des politisch-sozialen Engagements ein.

In weiterer Folge gilt es das Netzwerk an ausgebildeten PädagogInnen weiter zu stärken, sodass jedes Kind in Österreich die Möglichkeit hat Verantwortung für die Zukunft unseres Planeten zu übernehmen.

Das World Peace Game stellt den Unterricht auf den Kopf, denn es ist mehr als nur ein Spiel!

Gefragt sind Wissen, Kreativität und soziale Kompetenz.
Lehrer werden zu Beobachtern und Mediatoren.
Kinder werden auf spielerische Art und Weise mit realistischen, globalen Konflikten konfrontiert, die sie gemeinsam lösen sollen.

Das Spiel soll nicht Wissen vermitteln, sondern die Kinder zum Handeln animieren. Zuerst sind sie Gegner im Spiel und das mit Absicht. Das Geheimnis des Spiels ist jedoch, dass man, um zu überleben, zusammenarbeiten muss. Das bringe ich den Kindern aber nicht bei, sie entdecken es vielmehr selbst, weil es notwendig ist.

- John Hunter