Stories of Success

You can still find them – innovative, social, ecological projects and initiatives, that excite, spark hope and take an active step towards a future-oriented society. In the last 20 years GLOBART gave the architects of the future a podium, to present their ideas, to exchange oneself´s with likeminded people, to get input and feedback to further work on one own idea. They are the heroes of tomorrow. They show us how alternatives can look like. We want to tell some of these stories, from people, who presented their stories at GLOBART or got incited by GLOBART:” I am my own live designer, my own gardener, my own creative director.

Auma Obama – Sauti Kuu Stiftung

At the GLOBART Academy 2011 Auma Obama talked about her initiative “Boxing Girls”. In 2018 she started her own education campaign with the establishment of the Sauti Kuu Foundation. Using the slogan, “Don´t give them fish, don´t give them a rod, instead ask them if they even eat fish!”, the foundation creates a better future for young people in rural Kenya. Children, adolescent and families get support by finding, developing and utilisation of their own potential and ressources. Heidi Dobner was invited to the official opening of the sport, resource and training center in Alego, Nyangoma in Siaya County, Kenya.   “Young people have to understand, that they can take their destiny in their own hands. They start to realize, that they are able to participate and together to achieve more. They are more motivated and work hard. They only the possibility of our support.”          – Auma Obama

www.sautikuufoundation.org/en/

Agnes Aistleitner – teenah

 
On-site assistance is the credo of our national government when they talk about refugees. Agnes Aistleitner doesn’t talk, she acts. Since 2015 she is working together with Syrian refugee woman and Jordanian woman with poor living conditions and produces bag (i.a. for GLOBART, ARS Electronica, Impact Hub) in the northern part of Jordan. This project creates a stable basis of living and further softens the boundaries between ethnic groups as well as gender roles. She attended the GLOBART Academy 2013 as a scholar. Motivated by many engaged trendsetters she became active in 2015. 2017 she again attended the GLOBART Academy as a scholar, where her bags were used as goodie bags for the participants. www.teenah.org

Jacqueline Kornmüller – Suitcase Stories

Jacqueline Kornmüller had a great idea. She packed 30 suitcases with belongings that were left behind in the VinziRast Notschlafstelle in Vienna and asked 30 authors to write a story about them. In cooperation with Ö1 these stories were presented by famous actors on air. The different utensils together with suitcases and bags, were auctioned on the 25 if April 2018 at the Wien Museum. More than 30.000 Euros were received for the VinziRast, which celebrates their 30 year anniversary. According to the motto “20 years worth of ideas”Jacqueline Kornmüller presented her idea during the GLOBART Academy 2017 in Krems. Already the idea was inspiring. The results were just amazing. https://oe1.orf.at/koffergeschichten

Open Call an der Universität at the University for Applied Science

Within the scope of the traveling exhibition “Our Place in Space” designed by the ESA, which premiered in Venice, GLOBART and the NHM set an example and invited young artists, to critically approach scientific space research from an artistic standpoint. An Open Call at the University of Applied Science made it possible. Five projects ((Michael Bachhofer, Daniela Brill Estrada, Margit Busch, Solmaz Farhang, Anna Lerchbaumer, Eleni Boutsika-Palles, Monica LoCascio) got the chance to present their artwork during the exhibition at the NHM. The response from the media was enorm, the number of visiteurs a delight and the big surprise: two installations were afterwards presented at the film festival “Between the Media” in Polen, and one piece is currently exhibited in Bogota, Columbia. Universität for Applied Science 

Daniel Kerber – more than shelters

The artist Daniel Kerber has a vision: refugee camps should no longer be places of the permanently temporary, of hopelessness, but rather be places of hope. For this he already had a plan in 2012, which he presented during the GLOBART Academy. Today his company is a household name in the scene. Since many years, Daniel Kerber is interested in the living spaces of people. The situation in refugee camps is a burning issue for him. He wants change. 2012 more than 42 million people were fleeing their homes, today the number is 65 million people. It is not a short time, on average people spent 17 years in refugee camps. He develops tents – DOMOS. They are a modular system, which adapt to the living realities of their inhabitants and change the perception of a refugee camp to an “arrival city”, in which complex structures, risk and potentials are build. Whether family accommodation, classroom, operating room, because of the direct and slim production every structure is possible. DOMOS are deployed at the moment in Jordan, Germany, Greece and Nepal. www.morethanshelters.org

Geschichten des Gelingens

Es gibt sie doch – innovative, soziale und ökologische Projekte und Initiativen, die begeistern, Hoffnung machen und einen aktiven Schritt in eine zukunftsfähige Gesellschaft machen. In den letzten 20 Jahren hat GLOBART vielen Architekten der Zukunft  eine erste Bühne gegeben, ihr Projekt vorzustellen, sich mit Gleichgesinnten auszutauschen, Input und Feedback einzuholen, um weiter an der eigenen Idee zu arbeiten. Sie sind die Helden von Morgen, die zeigen, wie Alternativen aussehen und gelingen. Wir wollen Ihnen einige dieser Geschichten erzählen, von Menschen, die ihre Geschichten bei GLOBART präsentiert haben und auch solche, die bei GLOBART angestiftet wurden “Ich bin mein eigene Lebensdesigner, mein eigener Gärtner, mein eigener Kreativdirektor.”

Auma Obama – Sauti Kuu Stiftung

Bei der GLOBART Academy 2011 hat Auma Obama über Ihre Initiative “Boxing Girls” gesprochen. 2018 hat sie mit der Gründung der Sauti Kuu Foundation ihre eigene Bildungsoffensive gestartet. Unter dem Motto “Gebt ihnen keinen Fisch, gebt ihnen keine Angel, sondern fragt sie erst einmal, ob sie überhaupt Fisch essen!” eröffnet die Stiftung jungen Menschen im ländlichen Kenia Chancen auf eine bessere Zukunft. Kinder, Jugendliche und Familien werden bei der Entdeckung, Entfaltung und der gezielten Nutzung ihrer eigenen Ressourcen und Potenziale unterstützt. Heidi Dobner war bei der offiziellen Eröffnung des Sport-, Ressourcen- und Ausbildungszentrum in Alego, Nyangoma in Siaya County, Kenia vor Ort.   „Die jungen Menschen sollen verstehen, dass sie ihr Schicksal in die eigene Hand nehmen können. Sie merken dann, dass sie, wenn sie selbst mitwirken, viel mehr erreichen können. Sie sind motiviert und arbeiten hart. Sie brauchen nur die Möglichkeiten und unsere Unterstützung.“

– Auma Obama

www.sautikuufoundation.org/de/

Agnes Aistleitner – teenah

 
Hilfe vor Ort lautet das Credo der Bundesregierung wenn es um das Thema Flüchtlinge geht. Agnes Aistleitner redet nicht nur sondern handelt. Seit 2015 arbeitet sie gemeinsam mit geflüchteten syrischen Frauen und jordanischen Frauen aus ärmlichen Verhältnissen zusammen und produziert Taschen (u.a. für GLOBART, ARS Electronica, Impact Hub) im Norden Jordaniens. Mit Ihren Projekt schafft Sie Existenzgrundlagen und weicht zudem Grenzen zwischen Herkunftsgruppen aber auch zwischen Geschlechterrollen auf. Sie war Stipendiatin der GLOBART Academy 2013. Motiviert von vielen engagierten ImpulsgeberInnen wurde sie dann 2015 selbst aktiv. 2017 war sie wieder Stipendiatin, wo Ihre Taschen auch als Goodie Bags verschenkt wurden. www.teenah.org

Jacqueline Kornmüller – Koffergeschichten

Jacqueline Kornmüller hatte eine grandiose Idee. Zurückgebliebene Habseligkeiten in der VinziRast-Notschlafstelle in Wien verpackte sie in Koffer und bat 30 Autoren, dazu eine Geschichte zu schreiben. In Kooperation mit Ö1 wurden diese von berühmten Schauspielerinnen gelesen und waren im Radio zu hören. Die unterschiedlichsten Utensilien mit den Koffern und Taschen, wurden am 25. April 2018 im Wien Museum versteigert. Über EURO 30.000 konnten für die VinziRast, die heuer ein 30 Jähriges Jubiläum feiert, eingenommen werden. Unter dem Motto “20 Jahre gesammelte Ideen” stellte Jacqueline Kornmüller  ihre Idee zum Abschluss der GLOBART Academy 2017 in Krems vor. Schon die Idee hat alle begeistert. Das Ergebnis ist überwältigend. https://oe1.orf.at/koffergeschichten

Open Call an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien

Im Rahmen der Wanderausstellung der ESA “Our Place in Space”, die erstmals in Venedig gezeigt wurde setzten GLOBART und das NHM ein Zeichen und  luden jungen KünstlerInnen ein, sich mit den wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen aus der Weltraumforschung künstlerisch auseinanderzusetzen. Ein Open Call an der Angewandten machte das möglich. Ausgewählt wurden fünf Projekte (Michael Bachhofer, Daniela Brill Estrada, Margit Busch, Solmaz Farhang, Anna Lerchbaumer, Eleni Boutsika-Palles, Monica LoCascio) mit völlig unterschiedlichen Ergebnissen. Das Medienecho war enorm, die Besucherzahlen (240.000) eine Freude und die große Überraschung: zwei Arbeiten davon wurden anschließend in Polen beim Festival “Between the Media” gezeigt und ein Werk in Bogota, Kolumbien ausgestellt. Universität für angewandte Kunst

Daniel Kerber – more than shelters

Der Künstler Daniel Kerber hat eine Vision: Flüchtlingslager sollen nicht länger Orte einer dauerhaften Vorläufigkeit, einer Perspektivlosigkeit, sondern Orte der Hoffnung werden. Dafür hatte er schon 2012 einen Plan, den er bei der GLOBART Academy vorstellte. Heute ist das Unternehmen etabliert und aus der Szene nicht mehr wegzudenken. Daniel Kerber interessieren seit vielen Jahren die Lebensräume der Menschen. Die Situation in Flüchtlingslagern brennt ihm unter den Nägel. Er will etwas ändern. 2012 bei Projektbeginn waren 42 Millionen auf der Flucht, heute sind es 65 Millionen. Es ist keine kurze Zeit, oft werden es bis zu 17 Jahre. Er entwickelt Zelte – DOMOS. Sie sind ein Baukastensystem, welches sich an die Gegebenheiten Ihrer BewohnerInnen anpasst und Flüchtlingslager zu “arrival cities” werden lässt, in der sich komplexe Strukturen, Risiken aber auch vielfältige Potenziale bilden. Ob Familienunterkunft, Klassenraum, Operationssaal, durch die direkte und schlanke Produktion lässt sich jeder Spezialwunsch erfüllen.   DOMOS werden derzeit in Jordanien, Deutschland, Griechenland und Nepal eingesetzt. www.morethanshelters.org