GLOBART Talk


To keep pace with the time, to discuss future topics with scientists and artists, is the core task of GLOBART. Where would you be better able to do so, than at such a historic place of new thinking, like the viennese secession.
This exclusive, top-class event is an annual venue for decision- makers, a place for interaction and inspiration.

This event series takes place in cooperation with the viennese secession and “Wittmannmoebel”.

GLOBART Talk 2016

A big thank you to all the sponsors, speakers and participants!


to the Flickr Album
to the Youtube Playlist

Press report

Der Standard: Danae Stratou: “Weltkarte unserer Hoffnungen und Ängste erstellen”

Die Presse: Die Kunst und die Finanzen

ART CAN CHANGE THE WORLD – (EX) CHANGING PERSPECTIVES

The intense debate over the Greek financial crisis, which has been observed from only one point of view so far, made us want to see the predicament from a different perspective – one of art and science. Especially in a crisis like this, new spaces are created. Culture is what brings us new hope.
What is Europe? A cultural idea! We share cultural experiences. Beethoven isn’t German, Sokrates isn’t Greek and Mozart isn’t Austrian – everything they achieved, everything they thought is all the more impressive.




Speakers

talk-2016-referentinnen

“Culture can do anything – namely unite Europe,” says former finance minister of Greece Yanis Varoufakis. Together with his wife, Greek artist Danae Stratou, he founded the art platform Vital Space and wants to tear down the borders between art and politics.

Tomáš Sedláček and Oliver Tanzer will take a more psychological and economical point of view. In their book “Lilth und die Dämonen des Kapitals” (“Lilth and the demons of capital”) the two authors examine modern day economy crises.

Christoph Thun-Hohenstein is director of the MAK and an expert when it comes to the European Community. It was on his initiative that the Vienna Biennale took place last summer. The corresponding symposium, titled “Can art improve the world?” focuses on similar perspectives as the GLOBART Talk.

Meanwhile, Martin Fritz, curator, adviser and publicist, will host the evening and serve as a dialogue partner for these discussions.

talk-2016-img-03

Danae Stratou: “Art is a catalyst to create awareness not to get lost in a decorative trap”

Oliver Tanzer: “Art can be an instrument for a more precise diagnosis of crisis”

talk-2016-img-04

Christoph Thun-Hohenstein: ”We need art to promote positive change”

Tomáš Sedláček: ”Art is standing in a creative opposition to economics”

Idea

The GLOBART Talks aim to form a series of interdisciplinary and sophisticated discussions in which new ideas for a successful lifestyle are introduced. All over the world, artists, philosophers, designers and ecologists try to find answers to the question what life could look like in the future. The most inspirational thinkers are then invited to the Vienna Secession in order to present their ideas.

Program

Click here to see the full programme of the GLOBART TALK 2016.

Music

“The Common Blue” have put together a set list of European music culture which aims to let the ostensible border between entertainment music and art music fade.

Andreas Mayerhofer, Klavier

Kiara Hollatko, Gesang

Press

GLOBART TALK 2016 Programm
Pressetext GLOBART TALK 2016

Press photos

DANAE STRATOU

TOMÁŠ SEDLÁCEK & OLIVER TANZER

CHRISTOPH THUN – HOHENSTEIN

SECESSION TOTALE

SECESSION KUPPEL

SECESSION FASSADE

WE WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR SPONSORS:
 WITTMANN MOEBELWERKSTAETTEN, BKA – SEKTION KUNST, ERSTE STIFTUNG, MONDI, ARTAKER COMPUTERSYSTEME, HERWIG PIBER – FINUM PRIVATE FINANCE

WITH THE FRIENDLY ASSISTANCE OF THE VIENNA GUESTHOUSE, OLIVENHAIN AND ANDREADIS ESTATE WINES

GLOBART Talk


Am Puls der Zeit zu sein, Zukunftsthemen mit WissenschafterInnen und KünstlerInnen zu diskutieren, zählt zu den Kernaufgaben von GLOBART. Wo könnte man dies besser tun als an einem so historischen Ort des neuen Denkens wie der Wiener Secession.
Diese exklusive, hochkarätige Veranstaltung ist ein jährlicher Treffpunkt für Entscheidungsträger, ein Ort der Begegnung und der Inspiration.

Diese Veranstaltungsreihe findet in Kooperation mit der Secession und Wittmannmoebel statt.

Das war der GLOBART Talk 2016

Ein herzliches Danke an alle SponsorInnen, ReferentInnen und TeilnehmerInnen!


zum Flickr Album
zur Youtube Playlist

Presseberichte

Der Standard: Danae Stratou: „Weltkarte unserer Hoffnungen und Ängste erstellen“

Die Presse: Die Kunst und die Finanzen

ART CAN CHANGE THE WORLD – (EX) CHANGING PERSPECTIVES

Die intensive Debatte über die Finanzkrise Griechenlands, die bisher sehr einseitig geführt wurde, hat uns veranlasst, diese Krise aus einer anderen Perspektive zu sehen – der Kunst und Wissenschaft. Gerade in der Krise werden neue Freiräume geschaffen. Es ist die Kultur, die Hoffnung gibt.
Was ist Europa? Eine kulturelle Idee! Wir teilen kulturelle Erfahrungen. Beethoven ist kein Deutscher, Sokrates kein Grieche, Mozart kein Österreicher! Alles, was sie geschaffen, gedacht haben, ist um so viel größer!




ReferentInnen

talk-2016-referentinnen

Kultur kann alles schaffen – auch ein vereintes Europa, so der Exfinanzminister Griechenlands, Yanis Varoufakis. Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau, der griechischen Künstlerin Danae Stratou, hat er die Kunstplattform Vital Space gegründet und möchte die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Politk niederreißen.

Eine ökonomische sowie psychologische Sicht nehmen Tomáš Sedláček und Oliver Tanzer ein, die die Krisen der modernen Wirtschaft, so auch die Europakrise, in ihrem neuen Buch „Lilith und die Dämonen des Kapitals“ behandeln.

Auf Initiative von Christoph Thun-Hohenstein, Direktor des MAK, fand unter anderem die erste Vienna Biennale vergangenen Sommer statt. Das Thema des dazugehörigen Symposiums, „Kann Kunst die Welt verbessern?“ enthält ähnliche Perspektiven wie der GLOBART TALK.

Dialogführung und Moderation übernimmt Martin Fritz, Kurator, Berater und Publizist.

talk-2016-img-03

Danae Stratou: “Art is a catalyst to create awareness not to get lost in a decorative trap”
Oliver Tanzer: “Art can be an instrument for a more precise diagnosis of crisis”

talk-2016-img-04

Christoph Thun-Hohenstein: ”We need art to promote positive change”
Tomáš Sedláček: ”Art is standing in a creative opposition to economics”

Idee

Die GLOBART Talks sollen mit einem interdisziplinären Anspruch eine Gesprächsserie bilden, in der Ideen für ein gelingendes Leben vorgestellt und diskutiert werden. Weltweit machen sich KünstlerInnen, PhilosophInnen, DesignerInnen und ÖkologInnen Gedanken darüber, wie ein richtiges Leben in der Zukunft aussehen kann. Die besten Köpfe werden in die Secession eingeladen, um uns Ihre Ideen zu präsentieren.

Programm

Hier geht’s zum Programm des GLOBART TALK 2016.

Musik

„The Common Blue“, die für diesen Abend ein Programm europäischer Musikkultur zusammenstellen, das die scheinbaren Grenzen zwischen U- und E-Musik gegenstandslos werden lässt.

Andreas Mayerhofer, Klavier

Kiara Hollatko, Gesang

Presse

GLOBART TALK 2016 Programm

Pressetext GLOBART TALK 2016

Pressefotos

DANAE STRATOU

TOMÁŠ SEDLÁCEK & OLIVER TANZER

CHRISTOPH THUN – HOHENSTEIN

SECESSION TOTALE

SECESSION KUPPEL

SECESSION FASSADE

WIR DANKEN UNSEREN SPONSORINNEN:
WITTMANN MOEBELWERKSTAETTEN, BKA – SEKTION KUNST, ERSTE STIFTUNG, MONDI, ARTAKER COMPUTERSYSTEME, HERWIG PIBER – FINUM PRIVATE FINANCE

MIT FREUNDLICHER UNTERSTÜTZUNG VON:
ANDREADIS ESTATE WINES, OLIVENHAIN, SECESSION, SOUNDPRODUCTION, THE VIENNA GUESTHOUSE, VÖSLAUER